Joogoo’s Made It To My Blog!

Today morning, I was awakened by the persistent crow from Joogoo. Joogoo is a roaster. A neighbor’s roaster. Aside from the chairman, this roaster is the most famous. He walks very bossily, showing off streaks of feathers protruding from where he poops. His comb is a fiery red that stands out very boldly when he decides to adopt the crane’s pose.

His feathers are between black, brown, a shade of white and a bit of purple-ish reddish!! He belongs to Mr. Ssali.. Mr Ssali is something close to a farmer, its just that his kind loves to dig. You can tell a person that is doing it precariously and one that will carry his hoe on his shoulder with such pride–Like it is a new found blonde. He asks around to help dig gardens, trim compounds or just care for the banana plantations. He hates it when the garden is “shabby”, dry leaves about, banana fibers protruding just anyhow.

Everyone around home talks about Joogoo and it looks like hens equally want a share of him. He only chases after them for 30 seconds and they will be cloying under him. Mr. Ssali says Joogoo is a pirate of sorts-he has escaped death and kidnap several times. This he usually narrates to kids that attempt running after Joogoo.. They never get him and this has birthed in him a pride very nonsensical. It shows in how he walks, in how he stays put even when someone shows him he is unwanted in a particular place, it also shows in how he crows.. SMH

I am not one to mind Joogoo really because I mean, everyone else gives him such importance like he is kingly. Maybe I would mind as much if he were headless like the historic mike. And I think he has noticed everyone else accords him exaggerated importance but me.. So today’s morning, my alarm didn’t ring at the usual 5:30am and so I slept on until 6:25am but I woke up only because Joogoo crowed like it was the last day he was doing so. Beside my window, he went on and on and freakn on—I wondered whether he had flown over the perimeter wall, squeezed under the gate or just supernaturally found himself there. How in Heaven was he there?

He literally screamed so loud that I thought to myself “Mr Ssali needs to take time off and actually help Joogoo deal with his ego. It is eating him up, slowly he is becoming a nag. Somebody is going to send armed boda boda chicken after him and Mr. Ssali will lose his only companion”.

See Mr. Ssali will eat beans and greens all year long– these he asks from the owners of the gardens in which he digs) than slaughter his Joogoo. I am sure because Mr. Ssaali will not eat him, man people spend their days dozing out… Sleeping out.. Having one lazy day at their places of work!

But look at me writing a full post on Joogoo.. Guess he is famous after all because he made it to my timeline-both in narrative and his award-winning photo.

rooster-243230_640

This is Joogoo. I am sure his pride makes him think he can be a crested crane too!! He won’t run even when you come threateningly close to him!! This Chicken needs a DC!!

2 comments

  1. authensible1357 · 21 Days Ago

    I miss the early morning crow of the Jogoo of my youth. No Jogoos allowed in this city. But we are finally allowed to keep hens.

    You just made me nostalgic, thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • cynthiakyofuna · 17 Days Ago

      Thank you Authensible1357 for reading and offering feedback. I hope you fed the hens heavily to forget the nostalgia. It helps a great deal!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

